

Kansas 9-1-1 Coordinating Council Special Meeting Minutes

Friday, January 4, 2019, web conference

Call to Order

The Kansas 911 Coordinating Council was called to order at 10:02 A.M. by Scott Ekberg, NG911 Administrator, on behalf of Chairman Dick Heitschmidt.

Roll Call

Council Members in Attendance

Voting Members: Sheriff Troy Briggs, Robert Cooper, Chief Jerry Harrison, Kathy Kuenstler, Michael Leiker, Sherry Massey, Chief Robert McLemore, Josh Michaelis, Ellen Wernicke.

Non-voting Members: John Fox, Patrick Fucik, Robert McDonald, Ken Nelson, Sarah Spinks, Mark Tucker, Bill Walker.

Council Members Absent

Voting Members: Mike Albers, Representative John Alcala, Senator Rick Billinger, Senator Marci Francisco, Representative Kyle Hoffman, Kerry McCue, Melanie Mills-Bergers, Jonathan York.

Non-voting Members: David Cowan, Jerry Daniels.

Also in Attendance. Michele Abbott, Lori Alexander, Eileen Battles, Kathleen Becker, Scott Ekberg, Phill Ryan, Gayle Schwarzrock, Cheryl Whelan, Randall White.

Business

Extension of the LCPA contract. The matter of extending the LCPA contract was discussed at the December 14, 2018 meeting, but a formal vote was not held at that time. Chief Bob McLemore motioned to extend the LCPA contract. Ellen Wernicke seconded the motion. Discussion: Josh Michaelis inquired about signature authority since Chief Heitschmidt absent. Chief Bob McLemore amended his motion to extend the LCPA contract, and that Scott Ekberg be authorized to sign said contract. Ellen Wernicke seconded the amended motion. Scott requested a roll call vote:

Sheriff Troy Briggs, Robert Cooper, Chief Jerry Harrison, Kathy Kuenstler, Michael Leiker, Sherry Massey, Chief Robert McLemore, Josh Michaelis, Ellen Wernicke. Unanimous affirmative vote; motion carried.

Extension of ITSS and PM Contracts. The matter of extending the Program Management and ITSS contracts was discussed at the December 14, 2018 meeting, but a formal vote was not held at that time. Josh Michaelis moved to approve the award of the Program Manager and ITSS contracts with signature



authority given to Scott. Kathy Kuenstler seconded the motion. Discussion: none. Scott requested a roll call vote:

Sheriff Troy Briggs, Robert Cooper, Chief Jerry Harrison, Kathy Kuenstler, Michael Leiker, Sherry Massey, Chief Robert McLemore, Josh Michaelis, Ellen Wernicke. Unanimous affirmative vote; Motion carried.

New Business

Misrouted Calls. Sheriff Briggs asked for explanation of misrouted calls. Phill Ryan provided a brief summary.

Cheryl Whelan pointed out that the notice posted on Kansas Public Square for this meeting stated that the purpose and agenda of the meeting is restricted to the topic of the LCPA contract extension. Therefore, to discuss additional topics could result in a potential Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA) violation. ACTION Ellen Wernicke asked if the topic of misrouted calls could be discussed on our next call. Cheryl Whelan recommended that future meeting notices be general rather than restrictive in nature in order to allow greater latitude for addressing additional topics during the meeting.

Likewise, the previous business for extending the Program Management and ITSS contracts is null and void because it was not stipulated in the posted meeting notice.

Next Meeting

January 25, 2019, 9:00 A.M. as a web conference.

Josh Michaelis moved to adjourn the meeting. Sheriff Troy Briggs seconded the motion. No further discussion. All in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 10:19 A.M.

Submitted by:

Scott Ekberg NG911 Administrator