

# Kansas NG9-1-1 Special Meeting Minutes

### Monday, September 10, 2018

## 1 Call To Order

The Kansas 911 Coordinating Council ("Council") special meeting was called to order at 9:00a.m. by Scott Ekberg, filling in for Chairman Heitschmidt.

## 2 Roll Call

#### **Council Members in Attendance**

Mike Albers, Troy Briggs, Robert Cooper, Jerry Daniels, John Fox, Marci Francisco, Adam Geffert, Kathy Kuenstler, Sherry Massey, Kerry McCue, Josh Michaelis, Melanie Mills-Bergers, Ken Nelson, and Sara Spinks.

#### **Council Members Absent**

John Alcala, Rick Billinger, David Cowan, Patrick Fucik, Dick Heitschmidt, Kyle Hoffman, Michael Leiker, Robert McDonald, Robert McLemore, Mark Tucker, Ellen Wernicke, and Jonathan York.

#### Also in Attendance – Support Staff and Guests

Lori Alexander, Eileen Battles, Scott Boden, Scott Ekberg, Elora Forshee, Ed Klumpp, Phill Ryan, Gayle Schwarzrock, Tyler Siefkes, and Randall White.

## 3 KS911 Act draft bill

The proposed draft bill for the Kansas 911 Act was sent out with the request that any proposed changes be returned to Scott Ekberg. No proposed changes were received. Scott proposed that if the draft bill were to be accepted today, then he would follow the following timeline:

- September 10, 2018, he would submit the draft bill to the Kansas Office of Revisor of Statutes for any edits they would want to make.
- the draft bill would be sent to all the 911 Council stakeholder groups, including those additional groups discussed in the August 10, 2018 meeting of the Council, requesting their comments. The public comment period would run through October 26, 2018, to gather public comments.
- Scott Ekberg will compile all the comments and present those to the Council in a special web/phone conference, November 2, 2018. During this meeting, the Council will review all the comments and either accept the comment and agree to incorporate that into the draft, or if rejected then the reason why the Council is choosing to reject.
- Scott will format the draft bill into two (2) documents:
  - o the draft bill with any edits that are approved by the Council on November 2, 2018 and
  - a document listing all the comments received, and the action taken. If we chose not to incorporate a comment into the draft, the reason why it was not included.



- Scott will send the compiled list of comments out to the stakeholder groups, so they know exactly what we did with those comments and why.
- Then, we will have the final draft of the bill ready and it can be presented to Senator Robert ("Rob") Olson December 1, 2018 so he is ready with it at the start of the session.

Scott advised he would entertain a motion to approve the draft of the bill and forward it based on in the above timeline. Gayle took roll call of the voting members again and tallied nine (9) voting members in attendance: Mike Albers, Troy Briggs, Robert Cooper, Jerry Marci Francisco, Kathy Kuenstler, Sherry Massey, Kerry McCue, Josh Michaelis, Melanie Mills-Bergers. There are 17 voting members of the Council. Therefore, a quorum was present. Mike Albers made motion to approve the draft bill, seconded by Kathy Kuenstler. Scott inquired if there was any further discussion on the motion. There was none. All in favor. Motion passed unanimously.

# 4 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned by Scott Ekberg at 9:44a.m.

Submitted by:

Scott Ekberg NG911 Administrator